May 19, 2024  
Catalog 2022-2023 
Catalog 2022-2023 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Louisiana Board of Regents

The Board of Regents, a state agency created by the 1974 Louisiana Constitution, coordinates all public higher education in Louisiana. The Board began operations January 1, 1975, succeeding the Coordinating Council for Higher Education.

The 15 volunteer members of the Board of Regents are appointed by the governor to six-year, overlapping terms, with at least one (but not more than two) Regents drawn from each of Louisiana’s seven Congressional districts. In addition, the Louisiana Council of Student Body Presidents appoints one student member as its representative on the Board. Policies and decisions of the Board of Regents are administered by a fulltime staff headed by the Commissioner of Higher Education.

Through statewide academic planning and review, budgeting and performance funding, research, and accountability, the Board of Regents coordinates the efforts of the state’s 34 public colleges, universities and professional schools and serves as the state liaison to Louisiana’s accredited, independent institutions of higher learning. While not involved in overseeing the day-to-day operations of college campuses, the Board of Regents is responsible for setting important statewide standards including minimum admissions requirements as well as benchmarks and targets for the GRAD Act, Louisiana’s signature higher education reform policy.

The Board of Regents represents the public higher education community before all branches of government and the public and maintains close contact with student interests through the Council of Student Body Presidents.

For additional information, go to

Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Article VIII, Section 7 of the 1974 Louisiana State Constitution created the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College with authority to supervise and manage the institutions, statewide agricultural programs, and other programs administered through its system. The constitution provides that the membership of the Board is composed of two members from each congressional district and one member from the state at large, appointed by the Governor with confirmation of the Senate. Those members serve six-year terms, which are staggered. In addition, a student member is selected to serve a one-year term.

For additional information, go to

Louisiana State University Administration 

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport (LSUHSC-S) is a member of the Louisiana State University (LSU) system, whch includes a statewide network of four universities, two comprehensive health sciences centers, an agricultural center, a biomedical research center, and a health care services division.  

Article VII, Section 2 of the Bylaws & Regulations of the Board of Supervisors outlines the duties of the LSU President. The president is the chief executive officer of the University in all its divisions and campuses and is responsible to the Board of Supervisors for the conduct of the University in all of its affairs, and executes and enforces all the decisions, orders, rules, and regulations of the Board with respect to the conduct of the University.

For additional information, go to

LSUHSC-S Administration

The LSUHSC-S administration is described at the following link:  An organizational chart for the LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport can be found at the following link:

Organizational Chart